Vietnam is a Southeast Asian country located on the Indochina Peninsula. Currently, the map of Vietnam includes 63 provinces and centrally-governed major cities, with the capital being Hanoi. Let’s explore the map of Vietnam and its provinces together with VietnamS2 to learn useful information about their natural, cultural, and socio-economic characteristics.

An overview of the geography of Vietnam
The map of Vietnam is always updated and provides detailed information that is suitable for the reality and development situation of all localities in the country. First of all, in terms of an overview, Vietnam’s total population, according to the latest data updated in 2023, is over 98.9 million people, with a population density ranking 15th highest in the world on a natural area of 331,698 square kilometers.

The population is expected to reach 105.3 million by 2050. The growth of the population in Vietnam is being driven by a number of factors, including a high birth rate, a declining death rate, and an influx of immigrants. The government of Vietnam is taking steps to address the challenges posed by population growth, such as providing more education and healthcare services, and creating more jobs.

Map of Vietnam (Source: Center for Data, Surveying, and Mapping Information)

The main geographical feature of our country is hills and mountains, which account for three-quarters of the total area, while plains and midlands only occupy one-quarter of the country’s area. As a result, the majority of provinces and cities in Vietnam have diverse natural landscapes, and the economic areas are also divided based on geographical features.

Based on geographical characteristics, the map of Vietnam is divided into 3 regions and 7 key economic zones throughout the country, including: Northern Vietnam, Central Vietnam, and Southern Vietnam.

List of 63 cities and provinces in Vietnam ( Sources by )

Map of the provinces and cities in Northern Vietnam
Northern Vietnam is considered the “heart of the country” with its political, economic, and cultural center being the capital city, Hanoi. Based on the natural terrain and the economic development characteristics of the provinces and cities, Northern Vietnam is further divided into 3 key economic zones, including the following specific provinces and cities:

Northwest region includes 6 provinces and cities: Hoa Binh, Son La, Dien Bien, Lai Chau, Lao Cai, and Yen Bai.

The Red River Delta includes 10 provinces and cities: Hanoi, Ha Nam, Ninh Binh, Bac Ninh, Hai Duong, Hai Phong, Hung Yen, Nam Dinh, Thai Binh, and Vinh Phuc.

Northeast Vietnam comprises 9 provinces and cities: Ha Giang, Cao Bang, Bac Kan, Lang Son, Tuyen Quang, Thai Nguyen, Phu Tho, Bac Giang, and Quang Ninh.

Map of Central Vietnam Similarly to the North, the Central Vietnam provinces and cities are one of the 7 key economic regions in the country, divided into 3 smaller economic zones.

North Central Coast consists of 6 provinces and cities: Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh, Quang Binh, Quang Tri, and Thua Thien – Hue.

Central Highlands is the largest plateau region in our country, comprising 5 provinces and cities stretching from the North to the South: Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong, and Lam Dong.

The South Central Coast and Central Highlands regions include 8 provinces and cities: Khanh Hoa, Ninh Thuan, Binh Thuan, Quang Nam, Da Nang, Quang Ngai, Binh Dinh, and Phu Yen.

Map of Southern Vietnam The final region on the map of Vietnam’s provinces and cities is Southern Vietnam, which consists of two major economic zones: Southeast and Southwest. These zones possess distinctive economic development potentials, serving as driving forces for the overall development of the southern region of the country.

Southeast (also known as the Eastern region) comprises 1 city and 5 provinces: Ho Chi Minh City, Ba Ria – Vung Tau, Binh Duong, Binh Phuoc, Dong Nai, and Tay Ninh.

Southwest, also known as the Mekong Delta, includes one centrally-governed city, Can Tho, and 12 other provinces: Long An, Tien Giang, Ben Tre, Vinh Long, Tra Vinh, Hau Giang, Soc Trang, Dong Thap, An Giang, Kien Giang, Bac Lieu, and Ca Mau.

Each province and city on the map of Vietnam has its own unique characteristics and together, they contribute to the economic development resources of the whole country. The above provides some statistics on the economy, society, and geography of the provinces and cities throughout the country, hoping to offer you additional useful information and a comprehensive overview of the provinces and cities across the nation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *